APC Sweeps Gombe LG Chairmanship Seats


Chigozie Amadi

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Gombe State has won all the chairmanship seats in the 11 local government areas (LGAs) of the state.
Five political parties, including the ruling APC, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Young People’s Party (YPP), Accord Party and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) participated in yesterday’s local government elections.

The Returning Officer and Chairman of Gombe State Independent Electoral Commission (GOSIEC), Sa’idu Awak, who announced the results of the elections, said that the APC also won all the councillorship positions unopposed in the 114 wards of the 11 LGAs.

Awak noted that in Gombe Local Government Area, APC’s Sani Haruna won with 72,286 votes to beat PDP’s candidate who got 1,678 votes.
In Kwami local government, Ahmed Doho polled 29,073 votes against PDP candidate’s 1,930 votes.
In Balanga LGA, Ibrahim Salisu won with 35,493 votes as PDP scored only 184 votes while in Billiri LGA, APC’s Egla Idris got 33,979 votes to win the election against PDP candidate, who got 2,088.

In Akko LGA, APC’s Mohammed Adamu was declared winner, having scored 65,066 votes against PDP’s 3,058. In Funakaye LGA, Shuaibu Abdulrahman of the APC polled 36,026 votes to beat the PDP candidate who polled 3,094 votes.
APC candidate, Abubakar Difa also won in Yamaltu-Deba LGA with 57,546 votes to beat PDP with 1,334 votes. APC APC candidate, Adamu Waziri won with 26,869 votes against PDP’s 4,821 votes in Dukku LGA.

The electoral commission chairman noted that in Nafada local government, APC candidate, Babagida Adamu, scored 17,977 votes against PDP’s 355 votes.

However, in Kaltungo and Shongom LGAs, the APC candidates, Iliya Suleiman Jatali and Binta Bello, emerged winners unopposed, respectively.